Posted by: jewelinthelotus | July 2, 2011

Sucker for the animals.

Here is where I spent the last 10 days…..

http://www.maplandia.com/dominican-republic/barahona/habanero/

I’ve traveled enough to know that animals are not treated very well in a lot of countries, including America. However, I am always a sucker for the animals. This time I developed a special bond with a momma and her baby. That is what I named them – momma and baby. Creative, eh?

The light colored puppy was only around the first two days. The story is both puppies were given away, but momma retrieved  the darker colored one, so he was around until the day before we left.
I really wanted to take the puppy back home with me! Solutions for animals appear far more straightforward than humans. If I had more time, I would have brought the puppy home; although, it disappeared the day before we left. I am not sure if it died or was given away – hard to say. I learned later that it is only $100 plus vet bills to bring a dog back from the Dominican. Hindsight!! I kept saying I want to become a vet technician so I can come back to help neuter the animals. The starvation is hard enough to see, but combined with the fact they are kicked and rocks are thrown at them was more than I could bear. I put it a stop to it whenever I saw it, but I know it is part of their culture.

These dogs were visibly starving, had mange, and bugs over them, but I still petted them when they let me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

