Posted by: jewelinthelotus | December 13, 2010

The beauty of being different

December 8 Prompt

Beautifully different. Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful. Author: Karen Walrond, The Beauty of Different

I spent a glorious four day weekend unplugged! The first day I felt like an addict jonesing for a fix of Facebook, but after day two I relished the time away from the computer. The time away provide an opportunity to evaluate how much time I spend plugged.  I came to the conclusion it really isn’t the way I want to spend my time and need to spend less time at the computer and Blackberry. HOWEVER, I am committed to REVERB10.

I didn’t care for this prompt. I agree with the author that each and every one of us are unique, even those who try very hard to blend. We all bring something of value  to this world. I think there are far too many who have been criticized for their differences, myself included, when really it is our differences that make us who we are. Our differences shape us; unfortunately, it is often because those differences are our source of shame. My hope is that everyone at least once in their lifetime will see the value of who they are – “see the source of their beauty, their super power.”

I am choosing not to answer this prompt in the usual manner. Instead, I am posting an old song by Jill Sobule. It is what popped in my head when I first saw this prompt.

Sad Beauty by Jill Sobule http://p.rhap.com/Tra.2654357

I’ve held you in awe for so many years
Only now do I know what I’m seeing
I’ve analyzed every word that you’ve said
To find a deeper meaning

It went beyond curiosity
It almost ecame an obsession
To find a mere glance of love in your eyes
A mere glance of love in your eyes

You’ve got lines in your face from forced smiles
The sadness is beginning to show in your eyes
You can’t hide it anymore, sad beauty
Hide it anymore
And you find it hard to live in your guise
Time has not been very kind
You can’t hide it anymore
Hide it anymore

Do you still like being what you call free
Its comfort must lie somewhat thin
Hopeful lovers linger only so long
While you hide what lies within

Do you still like being a mystery
It’s lost much of its appeal
From an idol above understanding
To a loner who’s tragically real

(Chorus)

It’s been a rough life
A very tough life (sad beauty)
You can’t hide it anymore
Hide it anymore (sad beauty)
Sad beauty

Leave a Reply

Categories

