Posted by: jewelinthelotus | December 5, 2010

Let it be

December 5th prompt: Let Go. What (or whom) did you let go of this year? Why? (Author: Alice Bradley)

I suppose we are always letting go, that is how we grow, dropping what no longer serves us.  However, it does seem some years are filled with more letting gos than others.  The early part of this year I realized I was resisting letting go, which I wrote about in May in the cloud has dissipated.

The latter part of this year was being honest with myself about what and who no longer served me. That included some of my own habits and belief systems.  It didn’t mean I had to make some radical or dramatic cut, but I gave myself permission to pull my energy back and put more energy into focusing on what energized and supported me.  Everyone is on a path in this life so it isn’t necessary to create a big story, place judgement, or make them/it a bad thing, I just had to let it be and stop trying to make connections when there were none. I can’t say I always succeed it at this, because I love a good story line. Letting go of the story line is my life’s work.  I also am working on letting go of wanting things to be any other way than just the way they are. In other words, letting BE. And, the why….because forcing things to be any other way hasn’t worked yet and I realized if I fill my life with those people and things who don’t support my being, how can I possibly have space and energy for those who do.

In honor of John Lennon’s death this week.

Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Debbie Duncan, Debbie Duncan. Debbie Duncan said: Let it be: http://wp.me/pKUbr-9O […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

